One Nation, Under God, the Christian One

We here in the United States are a divided bunch, and in most regards that divisiveness is clear after only a brief glance at the composition of our Congress. The reason the term “most” is important here is that there are certain issues that are perceived to be too controversial to be on the wrong side of. One of them is God.

We are a nation composed of Christians, Muslims, Hindus, Buddhists, and many other religions. We also have a substantial population of people who are either unaffiliated or are flat-out nonbelievers. The fact that we continue to legislatively support terms like “under God” and “in God we trust” makes a mockery of our democracy and the First Amendment to our constitution.

As you are surely aware, the First Amendment states that “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion”, and that clause, known as the Establishment Clause, has been roundly interpreted by not only our Supreme Court but a whole slew of lawmakers to imply a separation of Church and State. Jefferson described it as a wall of separation between Church and State.

The entire idea behind the clause is that one religion should not be given preference over another, that religion in general should not be given preference over non-religion, and that non-religion should not be given preference over religion in general. The fact that our politicians and particularly our presidents are perceived to be somehow unelectable if they even fail to announce their devotion to Christianity represents a tyranny of the majority, and the result is the shameless violation of our Constitution.

As a secular humanist, I am disgusted that as a citizen of this great nation I have no choice but to be associated with a religion that I perceive to be morally bankrupt in many respects. It is not the perspectives of the majority for which the Bill of Rights was established, but for those of the minority. In this instance, I am in that minority, and I implore you all to consider that one day I may not be, and that it is in your interest to consider my words carefully.

Painfully. Slow. Progress.

About Painfully. Slow. Progress.

I am a secular humanist, an independent progressive, and a law student currently earning both my J.D. and LL.M. in democratic governance and the rule of law. More importantly, I consider myself to be a student of anything and everything. I started this blog in hopes of generating an in-depth and practical discussion of American politics, culture, religion, and law. Hopefully it will serve to get people really thinking, including me. View all posts by Painfully. Slow. Progress.

4 responses to “One Nation, Under God, the Christian One

  • A Fan of Painfully. Slow. Progress.

    Very well written article. Very true. I will definitely continue to read your future articles.

  • jonolan

    If you don’t like it here, you and all the other Godless freaks of nature mocking human form and carriage are more than welcome to leave any time you want. Not one single American is keeping your sort here against your will.

    • Painfully. Slow. Progress.

      As a citizen of the United States I have the right to reside here, though I acknowledge that you are correct in your assessment that nobody is keeping “my sort” here against my will. It might surprise you to know that it is exactly YOUR sort, who make hateful and bigoted *assumptions* about my nature, that compel me to stay and continue to argue on behalf of my position.

      I happen to be of the optimistic “sort”, which believes that perspectives like yours will one day be defeated by those of equality, reason, and the realization that people can be good without God. Clearly we disagree on major aspects of those issues.

      As a comment beside the point, I would point out that yours was an incredibly Christ-like statement to make. Ironically, you have affirmed my belief that there are serious moral bankruptcies inherent in Christian perceptions of morality. I bet your God would be proud of you for solidifying an atheist’s perspective.

  • A Fan of Painfully. Slow. Progress.

    Jonolan, it is amazing to me that you think this country is so wonderful. I am sure you think the Constitution, Bill of Rights, Declaration of Independence, etc. are wonderful and make this country so amazing. Yet the minute anyone says anything to improve this country, you tell them to get out. Well there goes freedom of speech.

    Should everyone just blindly say how wonderful this country is? It seems to me that if everyone did that throughout history we would not have Civil Rights, the end of slavery, gender equality, women’s right to vote….

    “Think for yourselves and let others enjoy the privilege to do so, too.” ~Voltaire

Please, speak your mind.

